Baylor University honors outstanding faculty 2019-2020

May 3, 2020

WACO, Texas (May 5, 2020) – Twelve Baylor University professors have been honored with Outstanding Faculty Awards for teaching, scholarship and contributions to the academic community for the 2019-2020 academic year.

The Outstanding Faculty Awards recognize the best all-around professors – including non-tenure track, tenured and tenure-track faculty – based on teaching capabilities, research achievement, time spent with students and church and community service.

The designation represents a singular honor for Baylor faculty since the recognition comes from their colleagues. Each of the honorees will receive an award of $2,500, a citation and recognition by their department.

“These professors exemplify self-giving love for the truth, for service to Baylor and the larger community, and above all, for teaching, mentoring and nurturing our wonderful students,” said selection committee chair was Julia D. Hejduk, Ph.D., The Rev. Jacob Beverly Stiteler Professor of Classics and associate dean of the Honors College. “It is thrilling, and truly humbling, to get a glimpse of what they are doing for the university and the world.”

Outstanding Faculty 2019-2020

Teaching (tenured)

• Sara Alexander, Ph.D., professor of anthropology, College of Arts & Sciences

• Yang Li, Ph.D., associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

• Horace Maxile Jr., Ph.D., associate professor of music theory, School of Music

Teaching (tenure-track)

• Edward Polson, Ph.D., assistant professor of social work, Diana R. Garland School of Social Work

Teaching (non-tenure track)

• Anne Spence, Ph.D., assistant chair and clinical associate professor of mechanical engineering, School of Engineering and Computer Science

• Scott Spinks, Ph.D., senior lecturer in Spanish, College of Arts & Sciences

• Edward Taylor, Ph.D., senior lecturer in music theory, School of Music


• Kenichi Hatakeyama, Ph.D., associate professor of physics, College Arts & Sciences

• Emily Hunter, Ph.D., associate professor of management, Hankamer School of Business

• Danielle Parrish, Ph.D., associate professor of social work, Diana R. Garland School of Social Work

Scholarship (non-tenured tenure-track)

• Howard Lee, Ph.D., assistant professor of physics, College of Arts & Sciences

Significant Contributions to the Academic Community

• Randall Umstead, D.M.A., The Charles W. Evans Chair in Voice, associate professor of voice and associate dean for Academic Affairs, School of Music